March 22, 2012

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Faithless Song

Can you recall the time you turned water into wine
And you really thought you were getting drunk?
When the stars were yours to steer by
And the heavens heard your voice
And every breath you drew held form and truth?

Now you don’t believe
And you need more than fairy tales to go to sleep
So here’s a faithless song
You know it’s not a drinking song
But if you want…

I will sing it in your ear before you lie down
I’ll sing it in your ear before you wake
I’ll sing it when you’re wishing you were static
I’ll sing it when your fingers start to shake

Baby this creation is a false one
A vain attempt to hide eternal light
The garden isn’t closed because we shook the tree
Or made a choice
The gate’s on fire because we knew the taste

And if you give up tonight
I’ll give up tonight
And we’ll both design the dogma of our choice

But I don’t believe
And I need more than rainbows to go to sleep
So here’s a faithless song
You know it’s not a drinking song
And if you want…

I will sing it in your ear before you lie down
I’ll sing it in your ear before you wake
I’ll sing it when you’re wishing you were static
I’ll sing it when your fingers start to shake

© Christopher McNeely, 2012

Comments are closed.