March 22, 2012

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Drinking Song

We’re gathered here tonight
To observe an ancient rite
Earth’s equal comfort to paupers and to kings

Our voices joined in song
Our hearts can do no wrong
We lift our glasses and sing…

Some of us live in the suburbs
Some of us live downtown
None of my friends need an invitation
When Friday night rolls around
We all gather ‘round at the pool hall
And we drink until we get our fill
Nobody notices the clock
Because we’ve all got time to kill

Some of my friends drink bourbon
Some of my friends drink gin
None of my friends are too good at telling
Just what kind of shape they’re in
We’ll leave it all to our wives and our girlfriends
They can write about it all someday
Everybody wants to come back
But that’s something we just don’t say

Hey hey – You can’t be lost if you don’t want to be found
Hey hey – You can’t set sail if your ship’s already run aground
If you can’t believe this could happen to you
Then I guess you’re just a better man
There’s only two types of sinners
The losers and the winners
And I hope you never understand

Some of my friends drink whiskey
Some of my friends drink beer
But none of my friends spend too much time thinking
About why or how we’re here
Some of us think we were put here
Some of us think we just arrived
But we all agree ain’t no man free
From the red race to survive

Hey hey – You can’t be lost if you don’t want to be found
Hey hey – You can’t set sail if your ship’s already run aground
If you can’t believe this could happen to you
Then I guess you’re just a better man
There’s only two types of sinners
The losers and the winners
And I hope you never understand

© Christopher McNeely, 2012

Comments are closed.