March 22, 2012

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mary and the Wheel

Where I go when I’m under
Where you go when you’re down
Someone whispers, someone cries
Someone turns their head the way you always do
Your eyes turn from brown to blue

And I know the force of blows
And you know why a ring won’t make a rose
When those sailing ships go down
Then we’ll mend your wedding gown
Oh Mary turn your shoulder to the sea

The wheel and I steer for circles
The wheel I am steers a line
Crooked pictures, crooked palms
Crooked angels breathe the air the way I do
Your veins still run blue

And I’ll always be alone
Despite this shallow harbor we call home
When those sailing ships go down
Then we’ll mend your wedding gown
Oh Mary turn your shoulder to the sea

© Christopher McNeely, 2012

Comments are closed.