March 22, 2012

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What Went Wrong

I’ve been underwhelmed
By blue suburban skies
And red reports that rock the night

But if I had to choose
I’d break this pilgrim stone
Ricochet and roam alone

All my life I struggled and I worried and I saved but for what?
I don’t know
All my life I tried to find a place where I could stand but where?
It don’t show

It’s a dignified lament
And though my money’s all spent
I’ve still got my soul
They can’t take my soul

On my right’s the slings and arrows of a bunch of phony Pharoahs from the trickle down
And the left ain’t any better – they’ve all got blood on their hands
This used to be a country I knew
Maybe you remember it too
End’s a-comin’ won’t take long
What went wrong?

Twelve flags take the stage
A TV screen appears
The crowd erupts in hands and cheers

Tell you what I see
Shadows not the face
Symbols of the cheapest grace

All my life I struggled and I worried and I saved but for what?
I don’t know
All my life I tried to find a place where I could stand but where?
It don’t show

I tried to make it through
But they always get to you
When something goes wrong
And something always goes wrong

On my right’s the slings and arrows of a bunch of phony Pharaohs from the trickle down
And the left ain’t any better – they’ve all got blood on their hands
This used to be a country I knew
Maybe you remember it too
End’s a-comin’ won’t take long
What went wrong?

© Christopher McNeely, 2012

Comments are closed.